Dr Emmanuel Tebandeke takes on as Head, Department of Chemistry

The outgoing Head, Department of Chemistry, Dr John Wasswa (R) hands over to the new Head, Dr Emmanuel Tebandeke on 1st March 2024

At its 722 meeting held on 12th December 2023, Makerere University Council appointed Dr Emmanuel Tebandeke as the next Head, Department of Chemistry at the College of Natural Sciences (CoNAS). Dr Tebandeke will head the Department for the next four years effective March 2024. He takes on from Dr John Wasswa who has served in the position for eight years starting 2016.

At the handover ceremony held 1st March 2024, the Dean, School of Physical Sciences, Prof. Michael Owor commended Dr Wasswa for steering well the Department. He congratulated the new Head and pledged continued support to the Department.

Dr Tebandeke in his new office at the Department of Chemistry

During Dr Wasswa’s term of office, the Department of Chemistry has participated actively in the harmonization, development and review of the curricular of its programmes. Courses offered at the Department include, BSc, Chemistry Major; BSc, Chemistry Minor; BSc with Education, Chemistry Major; BSc with Education, Chemistry Minor; BSc Industrial Chemistry; MSc Chemistry; PhD Chemistry. The Department also continued to conduct cutting-edge research in the areas of natural products chemistry, environmental chemistry, green chemistry, synthetic chemistry, materials chemistry, computational/physical chemistry, renewable energy and chemical resources, and nanoscience and supramolecular chemistry. Many staff have built strong partnerships with private sector organizations that have interest in the research outcomes of the Department. According to Dr Wasswa, such relationships provide excellent opportunities for research that could not be achieved due to resource limitations, and offer the possibility of efficient and direct design of products or technology of significant societal value.

Dr John Wasswa (L) congratulates Dr Emmanuel Tebandeke at the handover ceremony

In his remarks, the new Head, Dr Tebandeke appreciated the outgoing Head for the achievements registered by the Department under his tenure. He appreciated the University Council and Management for entrusting him with the mandate to lead the Department. He pledged to build on the achievements of his predecessors, calling for teamwork amongst staff.

The former Dean, School of Physical Sciences, Prof. Mohammad Ntale congratulates Dr Tebandeke

At the ceremony, the Dean, School of Physical Sciences, Prof. Michael Owor, on behalf of the Principal presented a Recognition of Service Award to Dr John Wasswa in appreciation of his distinguished service to the College as Head, Department of Chemistry.

The current Dean, School of Physical Sciences, Prof. Michael Owor presents a Recognition of Service Award to Dr Johh Wasswa

About Dr Emmanuel Tebandeke

Dr Emmanuel Tebandeke holds BSc in Chemistry and Geology, MSc in Chemistry and PhD in Chemistry from Makerere University. He also holds a Licentiate of Philosophy in Inorganic Chemistry from Lund University Sweden. He is currently a Senior Lecturer at the Department of Chemistry, College of Natural Sciences (CoNAS), Makerere University, where he is actively involved in teaching and research. His areas of specialization include Inorganic Chemistry, Catalysis, Green Chemistry and Environmental Chemistry. He is engaged in a number of projects and has widely published and supervised a number of students at both undergraduate and graduate levels.  He is a Co-Chairman of the National Multi-sectoral Committee on Chemicals and Waste Management in Uganda, under the National Environment Management Authority (NEMA). He has carried out consultancy and advisory work for the construction of sewage treatment plant and biogas plant by Community Integrated Development Initiatives in Rubaga Division, Kampala City. He has also been engaged in several environmental impact assessments and environmental audits for different industries and firms in Uganda. More about Dr Tebandeke – https://emmanueltebandeke.com/

Dr Wasswa expressing appreciation for the Award
Prof. Ntale (R) appreciating the outgoing Head, Dr John Wasswa for his service

Leave a Reply